Scope of the Agreement

Under the National Health Reform Agreement (the Agreement), the scope of public hospital services that are funded on an activity or block grant basis and are eligible for a Commonwealth NHR funding contribution currently includes:

  • All admitted and non-admitted services
  • All emergency department services provided by a recognised emergency department
  • Other outpatient, mental health, sub-acute services and other services that could reasonably be considered a public hospital service.

Public hospitals will continue to receive funding from other sources, including the Commonwealth, states and territories, and third parties for the provision of other specific functions and services outside the scope of the Agreement, for example dental services, primary care, home and community care, residential aged care and pharmaceuticals.